The large bell displayed here once adorned the tower of the Rock Creek School, originally located just west of Cornelius Pass Road. The first one room schoolhouse was built in 1878 by the local community. Along with the building itself, they also constructed desks, blackboards, and the water dipper used by the students and teacher. An average of 35 students attended from the area, traveling to school by foot or on horseback. The bell was used to announce the start of school and could be heard from a long distance away.
To meet the demands of a growing population, a small building was added to the original and a second teacher employed. In 1915, a two room school was built at the corner of Phillips and Cornelius Pass Road. Attendance grew to about 75 students up to grade eight. The school officially closed in 1945, due to district consolidation.
This bell was also used in the Forth of July parade in Hillsboro for many years, being hauled on a trailer and rung on the parade route.
Cast by C.S. Bell Company in Hillsboro, Ohio (est. 1858) on April 8, 1911, the bell is made with an alloy of iron and steel. C.s. Bell Company was known nationally for the unique and mellow tone of their bells.